Protected areas

Protected areas are the areas of pronounced geological, biological, ecosystem and/or landscape diversity and are therefore designated as protected areas of general interest by a conservation act. In addition to the above stated values, habitats of bird species and other migratory species that are significant according to the international regulations can also be designated as protected areas of general interest. Evaluation, i.e. determination of the value and importance of protected area, according to the Rulebook on the Criteria for Evaluation and the Procedure of Categorization of Protected Areas ("Official Gazette of RS", No. 97/15) is performed in relation to the degree of the expressed main natural features, phenomena and processes of interest for protection of the area, as well as in relation to the functions and purposes of the area. Accordingly, protected areas fall into 3 categories: areas of exceptional (international, national), major (provincial/regional) and local importance.

There are 7 types of protected areas, namely: a strict nature reserve, a special nature reserve, a national park, a monument of nature, a protected habitat, an outstanding natural landscape and a nature park.

Overview of Protected Areas - Law on Nature Conservation (Official Gazette of RS, No. 36/2009, 88/2010, 91/2010, 14/2016 and 95/2018 - another law)